Learning Stages


    Early Stage 1 refers to Kindergarten

    Kindergarten is an important year of schooling as children formally begin to develop their literacy and numeracy skills. At Waverley Primary our whole school community will help your child adjust to school and help them to feel comfortable. Every Kindergarten student is paired up with a "Buddy" from Years 5 & 6 to help Kindergarten settle into the school routine.

    Click here to

    Years 1 and 2

    Stage 1 includes Years 1 and 2

    YEAR 1

    Your child begins Year 1 with familiar faces and school routines. Year 1 is the start of Learning Stage 1 and will continue until the end of Year 2. This year students become more involved in school routines and continue to develop their social skills as they interact with other children in the classroom and playground.

    Click here to

    Years 3 and 4

    Stage 2 includes Years 3 and 4

    YEAR 3

    Your child has taken the significant step from infants to primary school and into the first year of Learning Stage 2.

    National test

    This is the first year your child sits for the National Assessment Program Literacy and Numeracy (NAPLAN) test held in May.

    Click here to

    Years 5 and 6

    Stage 3 includes Years 5 and 6

    Stage 3

    Your child has progressed to Learning Stage 3, the final stage of primary school. It includes Grades 5 & 6.

    At the end of primary school and into high school the needs of young adolescents in the middle years  (aged 10 to 15) are integrated into our teaching.

    Click here to